Passover – A Gluten Free Holiday

Spotted at Marc’s in Mayfield Heights: image The Jewish holiday of Passover begins the evening of Friday, April 6, 2012, and ends the evening of Saturday, April 14, 2012.  Observant Jews do not eat or possess chametz during the week of Passover. Chametz is wheat, spelt, barley, oats, and rye which has come into contact with water for more than 18 minutes.  Instead they eat matzoh, a flat unleavened cracker made from one of those grains, or products that have been made from matzoh (matzoh flour, or matzoh meal, or matzoh cake meal). So, why is this holiday different from all other holidays?  You may find stores stocked with special kosher for passover products. It is very important to read labels to make sure the product does not contain matzoh in any form.  Some products will be labeled “Non-Gebrokts” or “Gluten-Free”. Many manufacturers produce special products for people who follow the Non-Gebrokts Kosher for Passover diet, using specially cleaned or completely dedicated equipment and facilities. Ungar’s Kosher Bakery and Store in Cleveland Heights, (216) 321-7176, carries kosher for passover gluten free items all year long, with many more, including fresh baked items, for the holiday. Yehuda Matzo now has gluten free versions. Kedem products are a proud sponsor of the Celiac Disease Foundation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *