General Mills Inc. is recalling 1.8 million boxes of gluten-free yellow box Cheerios and Honey Nut cereal because they may contain wheat and therefore are not gluten free. This is a Class I recall because an allergen is involved and involves only one batch of all Cheerios manufactured. Consumers with wheat allergies, celiac disease or gluten intolerance should not consume products bearing the affected code dates and should contact General Mills for a replacement or full refund.
According to the GM press release, the bad lots were produced at the facility in Lodi, California during a four-day period for Yellow Box and thirteen-day period for Honey Nut. Cause for the recall was human error. If you have boxes of Cheerios in your pantry, the recall includes boxes with certain “Better if Used By” code dates and the plant codes LD which indicate it was made in Lodi, CA. Questions? Call 1-800-775-8370. (I called. My box was 18JUL2016 CR141107C. The CR stands for Cedar Rapids, therefore my box was not a recall box). The recalled codes made in Lodi are:
Honey Nut Cheerios
12JUL2016LD; 13JUL2016LD; 14JUL2016LD; 15JUL2016LD; 16JUL2016LD; 17JUL2016LD; 18JUL2016LD; 20JUL2016LD; 21JUL2016LD; 22JUL2016LD; 23JUL2016LD; 24JUL2016LD; 25JUL2016LD
Yellow box Cheerios
14JUL2016LD; 15JUL2016LD; 16JUL2016LD; 17JUL2016LD