Gluten Free 101: Confusing Ingredients

Gluten Free 101
Taken from Gluten Free Living Magazine’s
Confusing Ingredients http://www.glutenfreeliving.com/ingredient.php

Confusing Ingredients-Do They Contain Gluten?
Caramel color
Corn is used to make caramel color in the U.S. The FDA does permit use of barley malt but all major caramel color producers say corn makes a better product. Details? http://www.glutenfreedietitian.com/newsletter/caramel-color
Buckwheat
Despite the name, buckwheat is a fruit. Nutritious and gluten free, buckwheat can be ground into flour. Buckwheat groats are the hulled seed of the buckwheat plant. When groats are roasted, they are called kasha. Buckwheat is sometimes combined with wheat flour in pancake and baking mixes, so you can’t assume all buckwheat products are gluten free. Always read the label.
Dextrin* (Dextrin in USDA products-meat, poultry, eggs may have wheat)
Dextrin made from corn, potato, arrowroot, rice, or tapioca is gluten free. It can be made from wheat, though this is rare and would not be gluten free. If dextrin is made from wheat, “wheat” will appear on the label.
Hydrolyzed vegetable protein (HVP) or Hydrolyzed Plant Protein (HPP)
The source of the protein should always be listed on the label of a food that contains HVP or HPP. If it is “hydrolyzed soy protein,” it would be gluten free; if it is “hydrolyzed wheat protein” it would not be gluten free.
Maltodextrin is gluten free. It can be made from a variety of starches, including corn, potato, rice or wheat. However the source does not matter because maltodextrin is such a highly processed ingredient that the protein is removed, rendering it gluten free. If wheat is used to make maltodextrin, “wheat” will appear on the label. Even in this case, the maltodextrin would be gluten free.
Starch
On food labels, starch always means cornstarch and is gluten free.
Modified food starch
An ingredient made from a variety of starches. Modified food starch is gluten free unless it is made from wheat. If modified food starch is made from wheat, “wheat” will appear on the label. Also, more and more companies are listing all sources of modified food starch voluntarily.
Mono and diglycerides are fats and are gluten free
Tofu
Often used in vegetarian recipes, tofu is made from soybeans, water and a curdling agent. When plain, it is gluten free. If soy sauce made from wheat is used to flavor tofu it is not gluten free
Vanilla
A gluten-free flavoring made from distilled alcohol and flavor extracted from the vanilla seed (pure extract) or from artificial vanilla flavoring (artificial extract). Distillation removes the gluten protein from the alcohol.
Yeast
All brand-name packaged yeasts sold in the US are gluten free. Autolyzed yeast in a food product is generally considered gluten free.

Question if it is Gluten Free:
Brewers’ yeast, Yeast Extract when it’s a by-product of beer, it’s not considered gluten free. Brewer’s yeast nutritional supplements, however, can be made from either brewer’s yeast or sugar. If made from sugar, they are gluten free
Imitation Crab Meat/Imitation seafood NOT usually gluten free
Seasonings can contain a wide variety of ingredients. Some are not gluten free because they contain wheat flour or wheat starch, which will be noted on the label. Others contain only spices, herbs and gluten-free ingredients and are gluten free.
Seitan is an ingredient found in vegetarian food that is made from wheat gluten.
Soba are thin Japanese noodles which are gluten free when made from pure buckwheat. When wheat flour is added, as is often the case, they are not gluten free.
Soy Sauce and Worcestershire sauce Only about half are gluten free. You must check
Teriyaki sauce
Most contain soy sauce and are not gluten free. There are several specialty gluten-free brands available.
Wheat Starch
If wheat starch is used, “wheat” has to appear on the food label. Although processing often removes the gluten protein, some residual gluten can remain so wheat starch is not considered gluten free in the US. ** A special grade of wheat starch is permitted on the gluten-free diet in some European countries.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *